Chehalis Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Chehalis Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Canada Gotoarrow.png United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png British Columbia Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of British Columbia Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Chehalis Indians

Tribal Headquarters

Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation
420 Howanut Road, P.O. Box 536
Oakville, WA 98568
Ph. 1-360-273-5911
FAX 1-360-273-5914

History

Brief Timeline

1788: John Meares explores Shoalwater Bay

1830: Epidemics depopulate the tribe.The Lower Chehalis merge with the Chinook and the Upper Chehalis with the Suwal.

1846: Treaty of Washington

1855: Governor Isaac Stevens arrives in Washington

1864: Chehalis reservation established

1866: Shoalwater Bay Reservation established

1960: Federal recognition of the Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

The Chehalis tribe was under the following jurisdictions

Agency

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


Tahola Agency

Reservations

Chehalis Reservation

Shoalwater Bay Reservation

Superintendencies

Washington Superintendency

Oregon Superintendency

Additional References

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Chehalis tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Records

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M 234 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Post-1885 Census

M59 RG 75 Rolls 693

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Chehalis Taholah Indian Agency, 1878-1952 Seattle - 93, 302, 407-09, 564-69

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References