Chellaston, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Chellaston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chellaston St Peter Derbyshire
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
CHELLASTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Derby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. .
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chellaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Chellaston Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1058 has deposited registers Bap 1570-1997 Mar 1570-2005 Burials 1570-1993 Banns 1949-1995
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- General Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chellaston on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 562-569. Date accessed: fckLR29 April 2013.