Cherry Hinton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Cherry Hinton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cherry Hinton, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chesterton|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
HINTON, CHERRY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Flendish, county of Cambridge, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Cambridge.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers forCherry-Hinton, 1538-1876 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Cherry-Hinton, 1599-1851 at the FHL
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Cherry Hinton on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 518-521. Date accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.