Cheshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cheshire Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Cheshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cheshire Background
Local Research Resources
England-cheshire.png

Guide to Cheshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Information

The county contains 91 parishes, parts of 5 other parishes, and 4 extra-parochial places... measures 692,999 acres...

The county is governed by a lord lieutenant, a high sheriff, 65 deputy lieutenants, and about 290 magistrates. The assizes are held at Chester; and quarter-sessions at Chester and Knutsford... The county, excepting part of the parish of Threapwood, is all in the diocese of Chester... The places of worship, within the county proper, in 1851 were 252 of the Church of England, 2 of United Presbyterians, 3 of English Presbyterians, 66 of Independents, 31 of Baptists, 10 of Quakers, 14 of Unitarians, 3 of Moravians, 188 of Wesleyan Methodists, 29 of New Connexion Methodists, 135 of Primitive Methodists, 50 of the Wesleyan Association, 4 of Calvinistic Methodists, 8 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, 5 of Brethren, 7 of isolated congregations, 9 of Latter Day Saints, and 17 of Roman Catholics... John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).Vision of Britain.

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Cheshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Cheshire.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Cheshire Civil Registration Districts.

Websites