Cheyenne County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cheyenne County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Cheyenne County

Cheyenne County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Cheyenne County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 22, 1867
County Seat Sidney
Courthouse
px
Address Cheyenne County Courthouse
1000 10th Ave.
Sidney, NE 69162-1612
Phone: 308.254.2141
County Website


Cheyenne County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Cheyenne County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1870 1871 1871

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage and land records. County Court has probate records. Clerk District Court has divorce records. [2]

History

Parent County

1867 Cheyenne County was created 22 June 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Sidney. [3]

Description

Cheyenne County was formed in 1871 and named after the Cheyenne Native American tribe.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • USGenWeb has a list of Cheyenne County cemeteries, their locations and links to online transcriptions as well as connections to Find-a-grave where it applies.
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 190
1880 1,558 720.0%
1890 5,693 265.4%
1900 5,570 −2.2%
1910 4,551 −18.3%
1920 8,405 84.7%
1930 10,187 21.2%
1940 9,505 −6.7%
1950 12,081 27.1%
1960 14,828 22.7%
1970 10,778 −27.3%
1980 10,057 −6.7%
1990 9,494 −5.6%
2000 9,830 3.5%
2010 9,998 1.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Cheyenne County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Cheyenne County has both a District and a County Court. The District Court issues writs, files papers delivered to him, endorses papers, and keeps records of court proceedings. The County Court files copies of Land records as well as birth, marriage, and death records.

  • Distric Court
    Courthouse
    1000 10th Ave
    PO Box 217
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162-0217
    Telephone: (308)254-2814
  • County Court
    Courthouse
    1000 10th Ave
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162-0217
    Telephone: (308)254-2141

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cheyenne County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Necheyenne.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Cheyenne - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Cheyenne County Genealogical Society (DDGS)
    P.O. Box 802
    Sidney, NE 69162
    The society has all Cheyenne County marriage records prior to 1 Jan 1987, cemetery transcription books done in 1998, census films for the county, and a county history with biographies. See their GenWeb site for fees. The collections of the CCGS have been moved to the Sidney Public Library to the B. Seda Heritage Room.
  • Cheyenne County Historical Society
    Fort Sidney Complex
    6th & Jackson Sts.
    Sidney, NE 69162
    Phone: 308-254-2550

Nebraska Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Nebraska Military Historical Society
    1330 N. Burlington Ave.
    P.O. Box 1286
    Hastings, NE 68901-1286
  • Nebraska Jewish Historical Society
    333 S. 132nd St.
    Omaha, NE 68154
    Phone: 402-334-6442
  • North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill, NE 68763
  • Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 169
    Lyons, NE 68038
  • Northern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill, NE 68763
  • Northwest Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 6
    Alliance, NE 69301

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cheyenne County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheyenne_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Cheyenne County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheyenne_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.