Chichester St Pancras, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Chichester St Pancras, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chichester St Pancras, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Chichester|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Rural Deanery||Chichester; Pagham|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester; Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
CHICHESTER, a city and market-town, having exclusive jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 62 miles (S. W. by S.) from London. Chichester comprises the parishes of All Saints, or the Pallant or Palatinate, containing 327 inhabitants; St. Andrew, 625; St. Martin, 282; St. Olave, 238; St. Pancras, partly within and partly without the walls, 1065; St. Peter the Great, or the Subdeanery, 5021; St. Peter the Less, 349; and St. Bartholomew Without, 297; with the precinct of the Cathedral Close, 145. These parishes were, by act of parliament in 1753, united for the better maintenance of the poor, under the inspection of guardians. There are also an extra-parochial district called Newton, formerly the Black friars, containing 123 persons; and a small extra-parochial plot beyond the walls, called St. James', and containing 40 inhabitants. There are places of worship in the city for the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.
Chichester St Pancras is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Kingsham Farm.
Church history Chichester St Pancras
The church of St. Pancras dates from 1750–51 on the site of an earlier church, partially demolished in 1642 and has been designated as a grade B listed building by English Heritage British listed building
See also 'Chichester: Churches (Anglican)', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 3 (1935), pp. 160-164. here
See also Chichester Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Chichester St Pancras, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Chichester St Pancras, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
CHICHESTER St. Pancras records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bishop’s Transcripts 1610-1892
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chichester St Pancras no results found
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.