Chidham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Chidham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Westbourne|
|Parish registers: 1652|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
CHIDHAM, a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Bosham, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (W. by S.) from Chichester.
Chidham St Mary is an Ancient parish on the Chidham peninsula in the Chichester district of West Sussex
Th parish church of St Mary has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
See also Chidham and Hambrook Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chidham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Chidham, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1572-1641, 1662-1901|| |
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chidham
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 593-597. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.