Chignall Smealy, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chignall Smealy, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Chignall Smealy, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chignall Smealy, Essex
St, Nicholas, Chignall Smealy Essex.jpg
St, Nicholas, Chignall Smealy Essex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Chignal Smealy, or Little Chignal, is a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex; it is 4 1/2 miles NW by N of Chelmsford town and railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chignall Smealy, Essex Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1600
1650
1667
Images 1600-1997 EssexAncestors[2] 1650-1832 EssexAncestors[2] 1667-1997 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes

1650-1748 findmypast[3] 1689-1996 findmypast[4]
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Chignall Smealy on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870) Adapted: Dated Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.
  3. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.