Childerditch, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Childerditch, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Childerditch


Guide to Childerditch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Childerditch, Essex
Childerditch All Saints Essex.jpg
Childerditch All Saints Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chafford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay
Registration District Billericay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Billericay
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

CHILDERDITCH (All Saints And St. Faith), is a parish, in the union of Billericay, the hundred of Chafford, and S. division of Essex, it is 2½ miles (S. S. E.) from Brentwood.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Childerditch, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6][7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Childerditch, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1539-1751


ESSEX
1537-1943
1538-1957
1538-1992
FREG 1758-1812




FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1538-1710
1538-1710


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex

'Surviving parish records include vestry minutes for 1726–89, 1808, and 1840–1913. In the 18th century the vestry rarely met more than once a year. The meeting-place was not recorded until 1783, when it was stated to be the church. The numbers signing the minutes were usually from 4 to 6. Officers presenting accounts did not usually sign, so the total attendance was probably between 7 and 10. John Groome, vicar from 1709 to 1760, attended meetings, apparently as chairman, until 1752, but his two successors appear not to have attended. Until 1850 there was one churchwarden, chosen until 1752 by the vicar, and thereafter by the vestry. From 1851 there were two, nominated respectively by the vicar and the vestry. There was one overseer of the poor until 1787, and thereafter two. There were two surveyors of highways. Until 1788 or later there was only one constable, but in the year 1743 there was also a headborough.

'The parish owned a row of cottages in Childerditch Street, which were let to the poor. Two of them were rebuilt by the vestry early in the 18th century. ( They were still occupied by the poor in 1839. ( They were sold in 1844. Childerditch had no workhouse, and in 1807 contracted to lodge 8 paupers in Great Warley workhouse.

'The cost of poor relief was £117 in 1776, and averaged £142 between 1783 and 1785. (Between 1801 and 1821 inclusive it averaged £290, being highest in 1801 (£436) and 1819 (£406). During that period poverty in Childerditch seems to have been slightly less serious than in the neighbouring parish of Cranham, which was of similar area and population. In the years 1813–15 some 30 parishioners, i.e. about onetenth, were on permanent relief, and 61 others received occasional relief.

'In 1835 Childerditch became part of Billericay poor-law union.'[9]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Childerditch on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 14 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Batch C041871, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. Batch M041871, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
  9. 'Parishes: Childerditch', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 8 (1983), pp. 17-24. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=63838 Date accessed: 04 February 2011.