Childress County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Childress County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Childress County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||21 May, 1876|
|Address|| Childress County Courthouse|
Courthouse, Box 4
Childress, TX 79201
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Churches
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Landmarks
- 4.8 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.9 Local Histories
- 4.10 Maps
- 4.11 Military
- 4.12 Newspapers
- 4.13 Obituaries
- 4.14 Photographs
- 4.15 Probate
- 4.16 Stories
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Childress County Courthouse
Courthouse Box 4
Childress, Texas 79201-3755
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1893, divorce and court records
from 1900, probate records from 1894 and land records
County and District Clerk
Courthouse, Box 4
Childress County, Texas Record Dates
1876--Childress County was created 21 May 1876 from Bexar Land District.
- County seat: Childress 
The county was named for George C. Childress, (1804-1841), lawyer, statesman, and author of the Texas Declaration of Independence, son of John Campbell and Elizabeth (Robertson) Childress, was born on January 8, 1804, at Nashville, Tennessee.
1891--Childress County Courthouse destroyed by fire on October 21, 1891. All records were lost. 
Places / Localities
Towns and Cities: Childress | Carey | Kirkland | Loco | Tell
Towns and Communities from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- 1865 - 1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Childress County Cemeteries from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Childress County Cemeteries - USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project
- FindAGrave - Cemeteries in Chilress County
- Childress County Cemeteries - Interment.net
- Childress County Cemeteries maps, transcriptions, information
- Childress County Census Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- 1850 Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Childress County Court Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Childress County Landmarks from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local histories are available for Childress County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The Childress County Story, 1971
- Childress County History from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Childress County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- 1926 Corral, Childress County High School - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Texas Counties Map. Click TXGenWeb site.
- Childress County Military Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Childress County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Childress County Photos from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.'
- Childress County Photographs - USGenWeb Archives Project
Online Probate Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Childress County Stories from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1973 [Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 FamilySearch record collection
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 FamilySearch records collection
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch *1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) FamilySearch
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images]
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Childress County Vital Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Childress Public Library
117 Avenue B, NE
Childress, Texas 79201
Telephone Number: 940-937-8421
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and photographs
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Childress County, Texas. Page 660 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- GenDisasters.com - Childress, TX Courthouse Fire, Oct 1891 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/7340/childress-tx-childress-county-courthouse-fire-oct-1891