Chillingham, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Chillingham, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chillingham St+Peter Northumberland
|Poor Law Union||Glendale|
|Parish registers: 1692|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1760|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
CHILLINGHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Glendale, E. division of Glendale ward, N. division of Northumberland.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections 1760-1868 Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/53 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images have not yet been loaded.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Chillingham, St Peter: Records of baptisms 1692-1991, marriages 1692-1991 and burials 1692-1991 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1692-1812 and marriages 1692-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1692-1812 and banns 1756-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1692-1812 for Chillingham are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Chillingham (microfiche TN74) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.