Chilton Common, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Chilton Common, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chilton Common, Somerset|
|Poor Law Union||Bridgwater|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Record Office|
Chilton Common (it had presumably formed part of the common) and regarded as extra-parochial until 1858 when it became a civil parish, was added to the Chilton Trinity parish in 1907.
CHILTON-TRINITY (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Bridgwater, hundred of North Petherton, W. division of Somerset, 1½ mile (N. by W.) from Bridgwater.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above. References
- 'Chilton Trinity', A History of the County of Somerset: Volume 6: Andersfield, Cannington, and North Petherton Hundreds (Bridgwater and neighbouring parishes) (1992), pp. 251-252. Date accessed and adapted: 28 June 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 September 2013.