Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Chilton Foliat, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire|
|Hundred||Kintbury Eagle; Kinwardstone|
|Poor Law Union||Hungerford|
|Parish registers: 1569|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
CHILTON-FOLIATT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Hungerford, partly in the hundred of Kintbury-Eagle, county of Berks, but chiefly in the hundred of Kinwardstone, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 2¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Hungerford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chilton Foliat in Genuki
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 597-599. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.