Chilton Polden, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chilton Polden, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Chilton Polden, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chilton Polden, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitley
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1710; Separate register exist for Burtle beginning 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Glastonbury
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

CHILTON-upon-Poldon, a chapelry, in the parish of Moorlinch, union of Bridgwater, hundred of Whitley, W. division of Somerset, 5¼ miles (E. N. E.) from Bridgwater.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chilton Polden, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
Chilton Polden, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1731-1812 1731-1812 1731-1753 1731-1753 1731-1812 1731-1812
FREG 1608-1623, 1696, 1710-1884
1621-1623, 1731-1771
1608-1623, 1696, 1728-1908
MARR
1621-1835

NBI

1608-1921
SOPC 1731-1812
1731-1771
1728-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474606.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/ChiltonPolden/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 16 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.