China Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from China)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png China

China Wiki Topics
Flag of the People's Republic of China.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
China Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for China is Twlisa and Chincm

Guide to China ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

China is a country in Asia bordered by Mongolia, Russia Genealogy, North Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Kazakhstan. The official language is Standard Chinese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with China Research

Links to articles on getting started with China research.

China Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in China research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

China Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in China. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

China administrative claimed included.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in China. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

China has 23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions (zizhiqu, singular and plural), and 4 municipalities (shi, singular and plural)

Provinces

Autonomous regions

Municipalities

Note: China considers Taiwan its 23rd province. Also see Hong Kong and Macau for those special administrative regions.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "China," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China, accessed 3 May 2016.