Chingford, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chingford, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Chingford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chingford, Essex
Chingford, All Saints. Essex.jpg
Chingford, All Saints, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Waltham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

CHINGFORD (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Epping, and hundred of Waltham, it is in the S. division of Essex, 9½ miles (N. N. E.) from London. This parish lies on the borders of Epping Forest. It is separated on the west from the parish of Edmonton, in the county of Middlesex, by the river Lea.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chingford, Essex Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1791
.
.
Indexes 1790-1813 Ancestry[2] 1813-1901 Ancestry[3]
1791-1812 FamilySearch[4]

Original parish registers are kept at the Vestry House Museum. They begin in 1813.[5]

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241378.


Poor Law Unions

Epping Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Chingford on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 14 May 2013
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  4. Batches C163943-C163944, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.