Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Derbyshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chapel en le Frith|
|Registration District||Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1915; For more records see Glossop|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
CHINLEY, a township, in the parish of Glossop, union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (N. by W.) from Chapel-en-le-Frith with the hamlets of Brownside and Bugsworth, There is a place of worship for dissenters. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chunley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Chinley Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Chinley St Mary initially an extra parochial place then the hamlet was part of the chapelry and later parish of Hayfield, Derbyshire It became part of the new parish of Chinley with Buxworth in 1915 and has a Derbyshire Record Office reference D 7218
Buxworth St James, originally the hamlet was within Hayfield, Derbyshire and the chapel of ease opened in 1874, the churchyard opened for burials in 1879, It became part of the parish of Chinley with Buxworth in 1915 and has Derbyshire Record Office references D 3381 and D 7218
Chinley with Buxworth Parish formed 1915 from Chinley st Mary and Buxworth St James and has Derbyshire Record Office reference D 7218
Non Conformist Churches
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241290.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chinley on GENUKI
Bugsworth on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 24 June 2013.