Chippenham with Tytherton Lucas, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chippenham with Tytherton Lucas

Guide to Chippenham with Tytherton Lucas, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chippenham with Tytherton Lucas, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chippenham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Chippenham
Registration District Chippenham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578; Separate registers exist for Tytherton Lucas beginning 1812
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; Separate records exist for Tytherton Lucas beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

CHIPPENHAM (St. Andrew), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Chippenham, Chippenham and Calne, and N. divisions of Wilts, 33 miles (N. W. by N.) from Salisbury, and 93 (W.) from London; with the chapelry of Tytherton-Lucas, where there is a chapel of ease. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chippenham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Chippenham Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1902


IGI 1570-1875 1578-1611, 1653-1884
NIM 1577-1837
1578-1837

Tytherton Lucas chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tytherton Lucas Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464194.


Genealogy from Periodicals

Mattravers, Philip. The Matravers Family.

History and Family Tree of the Mat(t)ravers family of Joseph and Elizabeth Matravers of Donyatt, Taunton, Weston-Super-Mare and Chippenham. Article covers 1780-1929, and is to be found in The Family History Journal of the South East Hampshire Genealogical Society, no. 5, February 1975, pages 100-102, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2f

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.