Church Eaton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Church Eaton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Church Eaton, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Penkridge|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
EATON, CHURCH (St. Edith), a parish, in the union of Penkridge, hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Stafford. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Church Eaton like this:
CHURCH-EATON, a village and a parish in Penkridge district, Stafford. The village stands near the Birmingham and Liverpool canal, 2¼ miles SSE of Gnosall r. station, and 5½ NW of Penkridge; and has a post office under Stafford. The parish includes also the villages of Marston, Wood-Eaton, Oun, Goosemere, Orslow, and Eaton-Green.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Eaton St Editha parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|CHURCH EATON PARISH (1694) Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1538-2008 Mar 1538-1998 Bur 1538-2008
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1854 Mar 1660-1835 Bur 1660-1854 Missing Bap/Bur 1853/1854
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Church Eaton, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8