Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Churchill County, Nevada)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Churchill County

Guide to Churchill County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Churchill County Administrative Complex
Churchill County Courthouse
155 N. Taylor Street
Fallon, NV 89406
Phone: 775.423.6028
Churchill County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1905. [1]

Churchill County, Nevada Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1888*
1864*
1885*
1904
1864
1904
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[3]

Cities


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fallon
Organized: November 25, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[4]
Neighboring Counties
Elko  • Eureka  • Humboldt  • Nye  • Pershing
See County Maps
Courthouse
Nv-churchill-ch.png
Location Map
Nv-churchill.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


History Timeline

Additional Information

Churchill County was named for Fort Churchill (which today is actually in Lyon County), which had been named for General Sylvester Churchill, a Mexican-American War hero who was Inspector General of the U.S. Army in 1861. Churchill County was not organized until 1864, and its county seats were Bucklands (1861-64) which is now in Lyon County, La Plata (1864-68), Stillwater (1868-1904) and Fallon (1904-present). In the nineteenth century there were several attempts to eliminate Churchill County because of its small population, but Assemblyman Lemuel Allen was able to stop it on all occasions including convincing the Governor to veto the bill after it had been passed by both houses in 1875.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Churchill County records FHL

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Churchill County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Churchill county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 196
1880 479 144.4%
1890 703 46.8%
1900 830 18.1%
1910 2,811 238.7%
1920 4,649 65.4%
1930 5,075 9.2%
1940 5,317 4.8%
1950 6,161 15.9%
1960 8,452 37.2%
1970 10,513 24.4%
1980 13,917 32.4%
1990 17,938 28.9%
2000 23,982 33.7%
2010 24,877 3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


  • Early Nevada records: certificates of survey, Carson Valley, 1856; 1862 census of Churchill County; 1864 census of Nye County FHL
  • Missourians in the 1870 census records of Churchill County, Nevada [and]... Douglas County, Nevada FHL

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Fallon

Episcopal

  • Episcopal Church
    507 Churchill Street
    Fallon, Nevada 89406
    775–423–3551
  • Churchill County records FHL
    Membership rolls 1906 and 1943
    Baptisms, confirmations, communicants 1907-1933
    marriages 1913-1940
    burials 1917-1957

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

  • Churchill County records FHL

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Churchill – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

  • The Humboldt range: 19th century mining camps FHL

Maps and Gazetteers

Nvchurchhill.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[5]

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

  • The Banks compilation of birth data of men with links to Churchill County, Nevada, who were born 1873-1900: as found in the civilian registration cards [L.D.S. microfilm series of World War I Selective Service draft registration cards]. FHL

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Churchill County records FHL
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

  • In focus: annual journal of the Churchill County Museum Association FHL
  • Trails to Churchill County: Historical and Genealogical Society quarterly FHL

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Churchill County Library
553 S Maine St
Fallon, NV 89406
775-423-7581

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

  • Some Churchill County, Nevada, Records, 1850-1900: A Researchers guide FHL

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Churchill County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Churchill County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill_County%2C_Nevada accessed 10 March 2017.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).