Churchstanton, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Churchstanton, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Churchstanton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Churchstanton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemyock
County Devon
Poor Law Union Taunton
Registration District Taunton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunkeswell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

CHURCH-STANTON (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Taunton, hundred of Hemyock, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (N. by E.) from Honiton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Churchstanton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1662-1812 1662-1812 1662-1753 1662-1753 1662-1812 1662-1812
FREG 1662-1902 None 1662-1902 None 1662-1902 None




NBI None None None None 1662-1902 None

Churchstanton's parish registers are stored at the Somerset Record Office.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241315.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Churchstanton on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 612-616. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages (pre-1754)', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.