Chute Forest, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chute Forest, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chute Forest

Guide to Chute Forest, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chute Forest, Wiltshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinwardstone
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Andover
Registration District Andover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1871
Bishop's Transcripts: 1875
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

CHUTE-FOREST, an extra-parochial district, in the union of Andover, hundred of Kinwardstone, Everley and Pewsey, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Ludgershall.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chute Forest, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
Chute Forest, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1871, 1875-1906
1877-1906

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.