Cibola County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cibola County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Cibola County

Guide to Cibola County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Cibola County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 19, 1981
County Seat Cibola
Courthouse
NewMexicoCibolaCourthouse.jpg
Address Cibola County Courthouse
515 W High Avenue
Grants, NM 87020-2526
Phone:. 505.287.8107
Cibola County Website


Nm-cibola.png

County Information

Cibola County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1981 1990 1981 1981

County Courthouse

Cibola County Courthouse
515 W High Avenue
Grants, NM 87020-2526
Phone:. 505.287.8107 

County Clerk has records from 1981.[1]

History

Parent County

19 June 1981 - New Mexico created Cibola County from the western four-fifths of Valencia County.[1] Look for records in Cibola County

Description

New Mexico's newest county, it was formed in June 19, 1981 from part of Valencia County. The County Seat is Grants. [8]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[9]

City
  • Grants (county seat)
Town
  • Milan
Census-designated places
  • Acomita Lake
  • Anzac Village
  • Bibo
  • Bluewater Acres
  • Bluewater Village
  • Cubero
  • Encinal
  • Fence Lake
  • Laguna
  • McCartys Village
  • Mesita
  • Moquino
  • North Acomita Village
  • Paguate
  • Paraje
  • Pinehill
  • San Fidel
  • San Mateo
  • San Rafael
  • Seama
  • Seboyeta
  • Skyline-Ganipa
  • South Acomita Village
Unincorporated communities
  • Alaska
  • Candy Kitchen
  • Casa Blanca
  • Cebolleta
  • Cebolletita
  • Cubero
  • El Rito
  • Mountain View
  • New Laguna

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

County information:

New Mexico information:

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1990 23,794
2000 25,595 7.6%
2010 27,213 6.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Online Land Records


Land Records since 1981 are located at the County Clerks Office of Cibola County NM

Land Records before 1981 are located at the County Clerks Office of Valencia County NM

Most of the land in New Mexico was originally obtained from the US federal government by a patent. These General Land Office Records are searchable online and most have free images of patents to download. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cibola County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmcibola.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Cibola county NM Newspapers found at Library of Congress


Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Cibola County Historical Society
POB 346
Grants, NM 87020
Telephone: 505-285-6611
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Grants New Mexico Family History Center 1010 Bondad Ave Grants NM 87020 United States Location Map

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cibola County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  8. http://www.cibolacountynm.com/ accessed 09/29/2016
  9. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cibola_County,_New_Mexico#Communities