Cilymaenllwyd, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCilymaenllwyd

A guide to genealogy in Cilymaenllwyd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cilymaenllwyd is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.


KILLYMAENLLWYD (CÎL-Y-MAEN-LLWYD), a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (N. by E.) from Narberth. This parish is situated on the banks of the river Tâf, which here separates the counties of Carmarthen and Pembroke; and, with a very small exception, is inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The surrounding scenery, though not characterized by any peculiarity of feature, is generally pleasing, and is agreeably diversified with wood and water: Coed-llys, the seat of the family of Philipps, is beautifully situated in a richly-wooded vale on the banks of the river Taf, of which simplicity and retirement are the leading features. That part of the parish which is in Pembrokeshire, maintains its own poor separately from that within the county of Carmarthen. The church is dedicated to St. Philip and St. James. At Castell-Dauyran is a chapel of ease. Here are two day schools.[1]

For more information on Cilymaenllwyd see Cilymaenllwyd at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 456-459. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.