Clallam Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Clallam Indians

Guide to Clallam Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Klamath (or Clallam) Indian woman - by Edward S. Curtis-Collection.jpg

Various spellings: Klallam, S'Klallam,

Homeland: Puget Sound, Washington, Vancouver Island and British Columbia

Tribal Headquarters

History

Brief Timeline

1790s: First contact with the Spanish and British

1790: Clallam buy land and found Jamestown

1828: Conflict with the Hudson Bay Company

1830's:Protestant missionaries

1850's: Conflicts with whites and other tribes

1855: Treaty, removal to Skokomish reservation

1874: Some of the tribe purchased land along the Dungeness River

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Clallam tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

The Twana, Chemakum and Klallam Indians of Washington Territory FHL book 970.1 Ee56t

Reservations

Skokomish Reservation

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Agency Records

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency

Location of

Original records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M 234 RG 75 Rolls

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Post-1885 Census

M595 RG 75 Rolls

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Clallam Puyallup Agency, 1885-1920 Seattle - - 93, 407-09, 584- 581401-403

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References