Clark County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clark County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Clark County

Guide to Clark County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Clark County, Indiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Founded February 3, 1801
County Seat Jeffersonville
Address Clark County Courthouse
City Court Bldg 501 E Ct Avenue
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Phone: 812.285.6244
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed 3 February 1801 from Knox[1]
  • County Seat: Jeffersonville [2]

Neighboring Counties

Floyd • Washington • Scott • Jefferson • Trimble • Oldham • Jefferson

Scott CountyWashington CountyOrange CountyCrawford CountyHarrison CountyHenry CountyShelby CountyBullitt CountyMeade CountyNelson CountySpencer CountyFloyd CountyJefferson CountyOldham CountyCarroll CountyTrimble CountyJefferson CountySwitzerland CountyClark CountyJackson CountyINClark.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Bible Records


Business Records


Clark County Cemeteries Online Database courtesy USGenNet

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Clark County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups




Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clark County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collection  other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clark County.

Civil War Books

  • "The Military History of Clark County" chapter 18-19 in Baird, Lewis C. 1972. Baird's history of Clark County, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic) (page 178-205, Regiment, Compaies)  977.2185 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship




Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration



Clark County Courthouse
City Court Bldg 501 E Ct Avenue
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Phone: 812.285.6244

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1850 and court records.
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records.[3]


Clark County Historical Society
1101 E. Market St.
PO Box 606
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Telephone Number: 812-283-3728
Fax: 812-283-6049
Contact: Keith Norrington, Director/Curator

Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 665
New Albany, IN 47151-0665

Borden Institute Historical Society
PO Box 183
Borden, IN 47106-0183
Telephone Number: 812-923-5466
Contact: Paul Koffman

Clark's Grant Historical Society
8524 Highway 403
Charlestown, IN 47111-8748
E-mail: Tfaith@Unix.Adept.Net
Contact: Bob Gallman, President

Clarksville Historical Society
2000 Broadway St.
Clarksville, IN 47129-7762
Telephone Number: 812-288-7155 Ext 373
Contact: Jane Sarles

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.


Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Clark County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Source: Clark County Vital Records

Clark County Vital Records
Clark County Health Dept.
1320 Duncan Ave
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
(812) 282-7521

Clark County Court House Clerks Office
501 East Court Avenue
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
812) 282-7765

Birth Records

Record Cost Dates Ordering Notes Birth $10.00 since 1882 Order Online Mail Order from Health Dept Death $10.00 since 1882 Order Online Mail Order from Health Dept Genealogy Request $5.00 for up to 5 names since 1882 Mail Order from Health Dept Marriage $2.00 certified copy since 1807 from Clerks Office

Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites


Quick Facts:  Clark County QuickFacts

(Source U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts. Data derived from Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, State and County Housing Unit Estimates, County Business Patterns, Nonemployer Statistics, Economic Census, Survey of Business Owners, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report )


  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Clark County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.