Claughton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Claughton, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Claughton

Guide to Claughton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Claughton (pronounced /ˈklɔːtən/ "Clawton") is a residential district in Birkenhead, on the Wirral Peninsula, Merseyside, England. Before local government reorganisation on 1 April 1974, it was part of the County Borough of Birkenhead, within the geographical county of Cheshire.

Claughton cum Grange was a township in Bidston Parish, Wirral Hundred which became a civil parish in 1866. In 1898 the whole of Claughton cum Grange was added to Birkenhead.
It included the hamlets of Birkenhead Park and Flaybrick.

Most of Claughton cum Grange was within the parish of Bidston, Cheshire a small part in  Woodchurch, Cheshire

CLAUGHTON, with Grange, a township, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of Cheshire. A meeting-house for the Society of Friends has been erected on this property.  Several churches, have also been raised.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Claughton Christ Church was a parish in 18766 from Bidston, Birkenhead St James and Oxton.

Claughton cum Grange St Michael was created a parish in 1912 brom Claughton Christ Church and Tranmere.

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Claughton Christ Church (1876) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1868-1882
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

The Parish registers for Claughton-cum-Grange, 1681-1992 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Cheshire Record Office: P72/1/1-2, P72/2/1-6.

Parish registers Claughton-cum-Grange FHL Film
Baptisms, 1854-1926. Marriages, 1854-June 1897. 2298979 Items 4 - 6
Marriages, June 1897-1961.
2298980 Items 1 - 6

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-61)
  • Birkenhead (1861-98)

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-623. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.


Bibliography