Clay County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clay County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Clay County

Guide to Clay County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}



Clay County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Clay County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 16, 1854
County Seat Fort Gaines
Courthouse
Address Clay County Courthouse
210 S Washington
PO Box 550
Fort Gaines, GA 31751-0550
Phone: 912.768.3238
Clay County Website


County Information

Clay County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Clay County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1854

1860
1854
1854

County Courthouse

Clay County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Clay County Courthouse
210 S Washington
PO Box 550
Fort Gaines, GA 31751-0550
Phone: 912.768.3238

Clerk Superior Court has divorce and land records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
210 Washington Street S. Suite 3
Fort Gaines, GA 39851
Phone: (229) 768-2631

Probate Court of Clay County
210 S. Washington Street S. Suite 1
Fort Gaines, GA 39851
Phone: (229) 768-2445

History

Henry Clay.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]

Parent County

1854--Clay County was created 16 February 1854 from Early and Randolph Counties.
County seat: Fort Gaines [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barbour County  • Calhoun County  • Early County  • Henry County  • Quitman County  • Randolph County


Clay CountyEarly CountyMiller CountyBaker CountyCalhoun CountyRandolph CountyDoughterty CountyTerrell CountyQuitman CountyStewart CountyWebster CountyBarbour CountyBarbour CountyHenry CountyDale CountyHouston CountyGAClay.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clay County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Clay County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clay County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war information also given)


  • Todd, Donald (Priscilla Neves). 1976. The History of Clay County. [Fort Gaines, Ga.]: [Clay County Library Board?]. (Chapter VI) 975.8927 H2
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Clay County). 1966. Confederate pension records, 1890-1958. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 454212

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clay County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1852-1922 -   Index to Will Book A 1852-1922 Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1859-1873 -   Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, Book A, 1859-1873 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1875-1902 -   Index to Annual Returns 1875-1902 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1852-1870 -   Digital Images of Clay County Wills 1852-1870. See names of Testators Georgia Pioneers ($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
  • 1854-1888 - Clay County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1854-1888. Batch M712511 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1889-1929 - Clay County Marriage Books D and E Index 1889-1929. Batch M712512 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Death Records
  • 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Clay County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($)
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Ft. Gaines Historical Society
P.O. Box 6
Ft. Gaines 31751

Ft. Oglethorpe Preservation Society
P.O. Box 5321
Ft. Oglethorpe 30742

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.