Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clay County, Mississippi)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Clay County

Guide to Clay County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Clay County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Clay County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 8 March, 1852
County Seat West point
Courthouse
MississippiClayCourthouse.jpg
Address Clay County Courthouse]
PO Box 815
West point, MS 39773
Phone: 662.494.3124
Clay County Courthouse]


County Information

Clay County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1872

1880
1872
1872


County Courthouse

Clay County Courthouse
PO Box 815
West point, MS 39773
Phone: 662.494.3124


Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records. Clerk Chancery  Court has divorce, proabte and land records from 1872. [1]

History

Henry Clay.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]

Parent County

1871--Clay County was created 12 May 1871 from Chickasaw, Lowndes, Monroe and Oktibbeha Counties. It was named Colfax County until 1876.
County seat:  West Point [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MSGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Clay County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records


Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Clay County Historical and Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1849
West Point, MS 39773

Many Resources and links for the county.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.