Claygate, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Claygate, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Guide to Claygate, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Claygate, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Kingston
Registration District Kingston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

CLAYGATE, or Cleygate, a manor-chapelry in Thames-Ditton parish, Surrey; 2¾ miles SE of Esher r. . station, and 4¾ SSW of Kingston.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Claygate, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Indexes 1841-1875 FamilySearch[2] 1841-1865 findmypast[3]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Claygate Holy Trinity Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (9+ entries)


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. Batch C132741, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.