Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Clayton with Keymer, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Clayton with Keymer, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1601; Separate registers exist for Keymer beginning 1601|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; Separate records exist for Keymer beginning 1626|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
CLAYTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 2¼ miles (S. S. E.) from Hurst-Pierrepoint.
Clayton with Keymer St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: St John's Common, Keymer( sometimes Kymere)and Burgess Hill. A history of the church Clayton St John the Baptist
The Parish Church of St john the Baptist Clayton Hassocks has been desingated a grade I listed building British listed building
Clayton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Keymer West Sussex Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) for details of Keymer churches and Keymer Wikipedia Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex
A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. here
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Clayton with Keymer, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clayton with Keymer
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.