Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cleburne County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Cleburne County

Guide to Cleburne County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Cleburne County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Cleburne County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1883
County Seat Heber Springs
Courthouse
ArkansasCleburneCourthouse.jpg
Address Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620


County Courthouse

Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620

County Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court, and land records from 1883.

Beginning years for Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1883 1914* 1883 1883 1883
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records


History

Parent County

County seat: Heber Springs [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Faulkner • Independence  • Stone  • Van Buren • White

Cleburne CountyWhite CountyFaulkner CountyConway CountyVan Buren CountySearcy CountyStone CountyIndependence CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyPerry CountyPope CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyARCleburne.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Cleburne County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [3]

  • 1812 - The earliest known Anglo-Americans to settle in what is now Cleburne County were John Benedict and his brothers-in-law, William, Davis, and John Standlee.
  • 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee agreed to give up their reservation in exchange for lands west of Arkansas Territory.
  • 1850s - By midcentury, there were colonies of families who had traveled together from Kentucky or Tennessee.
  • 1861 - At the time of the Civil War, what was to become Cleburne County had fewer than 1,000 residents.
  • 1870 - The area had lost population.
  • 1880 - The county swiftly recuperated, with the population almost doubling, from 2,210 in 1870 to 4,025 in 1880.
  • 1883 January 27 - The new county was formed from parts of Independence, Van Buren and White counties.
  • 1908 - Construction of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad (M&NA) opened the remote valley to the world.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Cleburne County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Cleburne County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Presbyterian

Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman

  • 1878-1885 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Baptism Index 1878-1885. Batch C586771 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1878-1895 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Marriage Index 1878-1895. Batch M586771 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1881-1962 Cleburne County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1883-1918; Chancery Court records 1883-1897; Dockets 1883-1893; Probate record index 1881-1962; Probate records 1883-1897; Wills 1901-1923.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Cleburne County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cleburne County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Evalena Berry, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, ([1] : accessed January 12, 2016), “Cleburne County.”
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.