Clent, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clent, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Clent, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clent, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Seisdon
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Bromsgrove
Registration District Bromsgrove
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

CLENT (St. Leonard), a parish in the union of Bromsgrove, Lower division of the hundred of Halfshire, Stourbridge and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Stourbridge. It contains the two manors of Upper or Church Clent, and Nether Clent. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clent Parish was part of Staffordshire until 1844 then it became part of Worcestershire. FREG transcriptions have been included within Staffordshire and should be searched under this county.

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]   FREG - Search under Staffordshire
  CLENT ST LEONARD (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1562-1730
1562-1730

1562-1730


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 05 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.


Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.