Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire|
|Poor Law Union||Cleobury Mortimer|
|Registration District||Cleobury Mortimer|
|Parish registers: 1601|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1638|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
CLEOBURY-MORTIMER (St. Mary), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Stottesden, S. division of Shropshire, 32 miles(S. S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 137 (N. W.) from London, on the road to Ludlow. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| AGEN = accessgenealogy.com/Shrop |
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast.co.uk) (£)|
|FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|IARC = Internet Archive|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|CLEOBURY MORTIMER PARISH (1601) Indexes|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding and comprising the whole ancient parish of to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 626-632. Date accessed: 01 June 2012.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.