Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png North Carolina Gotoarrow.png Cleveland County

Guide to Cleveland County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Cleveland County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Cleveland County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1841
County Seat Shelby
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaClevelandCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Cleveland Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1913
1851
1913
1850
1841
1841

Cleveland County Courthouse
11 East Marion St
P O Box 1210
Shelby, North Carolina 28150
Phone: 704-484-4834

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914
Marriage records from 1851 and land records from 1841
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records  from 1921
Probate records from 1843 & Circuit records from 1914[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 1210
Shelby, NC. 28151-1210
Telephone: 704-484-4834
Fax: 704-484-4909
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
100 Justice Pl
Shelby, NC 28150
Telephone: (704) 476-7800

History

Cleaveland was originally used but the present spelling was adopted in 1887.

Parent County

1841--Cleveland County was created 11 January 1841 from Lincoln and Rutherford Counties. County seat: Shelby [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nccleveland.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Methodist
  • Mount Harmony United Methodist Church, near Polkville, N.C. Organized by 1791.[3]

Court

Education

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cleveland County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company D
- 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, 1st Company D
- 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company C
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company D
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company I
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Broad River Genealogical Society
PO Box 2261
Shelby, NC 28150-2261
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cleveland County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "Mount Harmony United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.