Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Clinton County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Clinton County

Guide to Clinton County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Clinton County, Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Plattsburg
Address Clinton County Courthouse
211 N Main Street
PO Box 245
Plattsburg, MO 64477-0245
Phone: 816.539.3719
Clinton County Website

County Information

Clinton County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1863 1847 1883 1830 1833 1833

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1833 and military records from 1919; Probate Judge has probate records.[2]


Parent County

1833 Clinton County was created 2 January 1833 from Clay County. County seat: Plattsburg [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Cameron, Missouri. Population over 9,000 (this includes the prison.)

Neighboring Counties

Buchanan  • Caldwell  • Clay  • Dekalb  • Platte  • Ray

DeKalb CountyDeKalb CountyAndrew CountyHolt CountyGentry CountyJackson CountyClay CountyNodaway CountyDaviess CountyGrundy CountyLivingston CountyWyandotte CountyAtchison CountyDoniphan CountyBrown CountyPlatte CountyLeavenworth CountyJefferson CountyRay CountyLafayette CountyCaldwell CountyCarroll CountyClinton CountyMOClinton1.JPG




Cameron Memory Gardens. East of Cameron on Grand Avenue or "Old 36 Hwy" This is Cameron's newest Cemetery.


For tips on accessing Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.


Cameron First Baptist Church


St. Ann's, Plattsburg

  • 1868 - 1876 St. Ann's, Plattsburg, Baptism Index 1868-1876. Batch C511761 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869 - 1885 St. Ann's, Plattsburg, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M511761 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in Cameron



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The History of Clinton County, Missouri: containing a history of the County ... (1881) is available online free from Google Books.

A Portrait and biographical record of Buchanan and Clinton counties, Missouri containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens... (1893) is available online free from Google Books. The first part of the book contains biographies of the U.S. presidents. The second part, starting on p.111, contains biographies Buchanan and Clinton county residents.

  • Johnston, Carrie Polk. History of Clinton and Caldwell counties, Missouri. Topeka, Kan. : Historical Pub., 1923.
  • Clinton County in pictures : a pictorial review of Clinton County commemorating one hundred years of progress. U.S. : s.n., 19--?.
  • Miles, Kathleen White. Tattle-tales, bits and pieces about the golden valley : this is the way it was, Clinton, Missouri. Clinton, Missouri : Democrat Publishing Co., 1967.




Civil War

Online Records


Service men in Clinton County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clinton County, Missouri:

- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 48th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Clinton Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Clinton County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Clinton County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search Clinton County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinton County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at