Clixby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Clixby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Clixby All Hallows Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Caistor|
|Parish registers: 1892; For more records see Caistor|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Caistor; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
CLIXBY, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Caistor, S. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 2½ miles (N. by W.) from Caistor.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clixby
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 639-644. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.