Coal County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Coal County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Coal County

Coal County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

 

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19



Coal County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Coalgate
Courthouse
Address Coal County Courthouse
4 N. Main Street
Coalgate, Oklahoma 74538
Phone: 580.927.2103


County Information

Coal County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1907 1907 1904 1907

County Courthouse

Coal County Courthouse
4 N Main Street
Coalgate, OK 74538
Phone: 580.927.2103

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907;
County Clerk has land records from 1907 and military records from 1917[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Coal County was created 16 July 1907 from Cherokee Lands.
County seat: Coalgate [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Coal County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.


Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Coal County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okcoal.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coal County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Ada newspapers that may have included Cole County residents. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Coal - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coal County, Oklahoma. Page 558 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).