Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cobb County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Cobb County


Guide to Cobb County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Cobb County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Cobb County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1832
County Seat Marietta
Courthouse
Address Cobb County Courthouse
100 Cherokee Street
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone 770.528.3300
Cobb County Website


County Information

Cobb County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1865
1865
1840
1865
1865


County Courthouse

Cobb County Courthouse
100 Cherokee Street
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: 770.528.3300
Cobb County Courthouse

Probate Court has marriage, death and probate records from 1865; Clerk Superopr Court has land and divorce records; Magistrate Court has court records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
70 Haynes St.
P.O. Box 3370 (30061)
Marietta, GA 30090
Phone: (770) 528-1300
Email:clerkinfo@cobbcounty.org
Cobb County Superior Court Clerk Website

Probate Court of Cobb County
32 Waddell Street
Marietta, GA 30090
Phone: (770) 528-1900

History

Parent County

1832--Cobb County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County.  County seat:  Marietta [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

War.jpg
1864 During the American Civil War, many courthouse records were destroyed.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bartow County  • Cherokee County  • Douglas County  • Fulton County  • Paulding County


Cobb CountyPaulding CountyPolk CountyHaralson CountyFloyd CountyBartow CountyCherokee CountyCarroll CountyDouglas CountyFulton CountyFayette CountyClayton CountyHenry CountyRockdale CountyDeKalb CountyGwinnett CountyForsyth CountyDawson CountyGACobb.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

The Marietta National Cemetery  is the gravesite for 10,172 officers and soldiers who died in defense of the Union 1861 to 1865. This site has the photos of headstones at the graves.


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

The Brantley Association of America Project has digitized and indexed many records from the Cobb County Courthouse including:

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gacobb.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy:

-7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies D, H, and I
-18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and H
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies B and C
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Cobb County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.


World War II

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newsapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Cobb Landmarks And Historical Society
P.O. Box 1432
Marietta, Georgia, 30061

Cobb County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1413
Marietta, Georgia, 30061-1413

Northeast Cobb Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1413
Marietta, Georgia, 30061

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cobb County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 21-22. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Cobb_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2771190"