Cobridge, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Cobridge, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wolstanton and Burslem|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent; Wolstanton|
|Parish registers: 1840|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
COBRIDGE, a village, partly in the parish of Burslem, and partly in that of Stoke-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 2¾ miles (N. N. E.) from Newcastle. There are a chapel belonging to Roman Catholics, and a meeting-house for the New Connexion of Methodists.
Cobridge is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 from Burslem, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cobridge Christ Church was formed in 1845 from Burslem, Staffordshire
Cobridge, Staffordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|Cobridge, Staffordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Cobridge Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|COBRIDGE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 647-654. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.