Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy
Guide to Coconino County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Coconino County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||February 19, 1891|
|Address|| 200 N. San Francisco St. (Courthouse)|
Flagstaff AZ. 86001
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Web Sites
- 9 References
Coconino County, Arizona Record Dates
Coconino County Courthouse
Flagstaff Justice Court
100 East Birch Avenue
Flagstaff, Az 86001-4696
Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce court and probate records from 1891
County Recorder had land records.
Coconino County lies north of Phoenix and the county seat is Flagstaff. The city is so named on account of a flagpole raising by the first settlers of the area. Today Flagstaff is the largest community in the county. 
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded part of present day Arizona, including all of Coconino County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. The land covered by present-day Coconino County, Arizona was once part of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties of New Mexico. Look for records in Socorro, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 10 Nov 1864 - Arizona created Yavapai County. This county named for the Yavapai Indians. Yavapai County covered land that later became Coconino County. Look for records in Yavapai County.
See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Angell||East Flagstaff||Little Spring||Pine Tank||Tempe Camp|
|Apex||Elden Pueblo||Long Valley||Pumpkin Center||Tiis Holoni|
|Bellemont||Flagstaff||Lost Eden||Quivero||Tin House|
|Big Springs||Fort Tuthill||Lower Tillman||Rare Metals||Tolani Lake|
|Cameron||Frazier Wells||Maine||Red Lake||Tolchico|
|Campo Bonito||Fredonia||Mangum Springs||Rimmy Jims||Tonalea|
|Cane||Grand Canyon||Marble Canyon||Riordan||Tuba City|
|Canyon Diablo||Grand Canyon Caverns||Meteor City||Robbers Roost||Tusayan|
|Chalender||Gray Mountain||Moenave||Rockledge||Two Guns|
|Clints Well||Happy Jack||Moenkopi||Rosewell Camp||Valle|
|Coal Mine Mesa||Hidden Springs Mission||Moqui||Ryan||Vista Encantada|
|Coconino||Indian Gardens||Mormon Lake||Sand Springs||Wahweap|
|Cogdill Center||Jacob Lake||Mountainaire||Sedona||Willaha|
|Corva||Kachina Village||Munds Park||Sereno||Willow Springs|
|Cosnino||Kaibito||Navajo Mountain Mission||Sereno Spring||Williams|
|Cow Springs||Lakeview||North Rim||Sherwood Forest||Williams Junction|
|Coyote Basin Ranch||LeChee||One Mile||Stoneman Lake||Wingfield|
|Dennison||Leupp Corner||Pilgrim Playground||Supai|
- Gila County, Arizona
- Mohave County, Arizona
- Navajo County, Arizona
- Yavapai County, Arizona
- Kane County, Utah
- San Juan County, Utah
Calvary Cemetery 201 W. University Flagstaff, AZ 86001 Phone: 928-220-2317. This is an older Catholic cemetery, founded in 1892 that is near the campus of Northern Arizona University.
Citizen's Cemetery 1300 N San Francisco St Flagstaff, AZ 86001 Phone: 928-774-6725. The largest cemetery in Flagstaff that is run by the city. It is on the east side of the campus of Northern Arizona University.
- Arizona Cemetery Transcription and Photo Project
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
- Lonely Dell Ranch Cemetery, Marble Canyon (West of Page). More likely accessible from US 89A, on west side of Colorado River and north of a small airport (airstrip) in the area.
- Mountain View Cemetery, Williams
- Page Cemetery, Page
- Pioneer Cemetery, Grand Canyon Located entirely within the National Park area, it is on the entrance road going to the main tourist area. Only under a thousand feet or so from the edge of the canyon itself. Has about 100 headstones.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|See Arizona Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.
Finding More Arizona Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Coconino - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- 1871-1964 - Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch.org — index and browse images, incomplete
- 1864-1982 - Arizona Marriage Collection 1864-1982 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1888-1908 - Arizona Select Marriages 1888-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1910-1911 and 1933-1994 - Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Arizona Historical Society
2340 N Ft. Valley Rd
Sedona Genealogy Club
P.O. Box 4258
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
625 E Cherry Ave
Flagstaff, Coconino, Arizona, United States
313 S Lake Powell Blvd
Page, Coconino, Arizona, United States
Tuba City Arizona
21 W Moenavi
Tuba City, Coconino, Arizona, United States
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
- Coconino County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project for Coconino County. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona p. 56. ; .
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).