Cocopah Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Cocopah Indians

Guide to Cocopah Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Cocopah Indians of Bandera.png
Various Spellings: Cocopah, Cocopa

The Cocopah Tribe is primarily associated with the states of Arizona and California[1].

Population: 1776: 3,000; 1990: 550

Tribal Headquarters

Cocopah Indian Tribe
County 15th & Ave G
Somerton, AZ 85350
Phone: 1.928.627.2102


Brief Timeline

  • 1540: contact with Spanish
  • 1852: Fort Yuma established
  • 1917: Cocopah Reservation

Additional References

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Cocopah tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.


Cocopah Reservation


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

  • Cocopah Indian Tribe Official Website
  • Cocopah Nation Wikipedia
  • Cocopah Tribe of Arizona, Constitution. A copy of the Constitution and By-laws for this tribe is available at the Sandra Day O'Connor Law Library at Arizona State University.

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.


  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online