Cocos (Keeling) Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cocos Islands, Australia)
Jump to: navigation, search

'

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cocos (Keeling) Islands Background
Local Research Resources
Oceania
Australia
Cocos
Guide to Cocos (Keeling) Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Cocos (Keeling) Islands are a territory of Australia in the Indian Ocean half way between Australia and Sri Lanka. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain and became an Australian Territory on 23 November 1955 with the proclamation of the Cocos Island Act 1955. There is no official language.[1] The Cocos (Keeling) Islands are located in the Indian Ocean some 2800 kilometers north-west of Perth. The territory consists of 27 coral islands in two atolls having a total land area of about 14 square kilometers.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Cocos (Keeling) Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with Cocos (Keeling) Islands research.

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Cocos (Keeling) Islands research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
Cocos (Keeling) Islands.png

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cocos (Keeling) Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cocos_(Keeling)_Islands, accessed 3 May 2016.