Coeur d'Alene Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Idaho Gotoarrow.png Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Idaho Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Coeur d'Alene Indians

Guide to Coeur d'Alene Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Tribe's native name is Skitswish

Linguistic group: Salishan

The Coeur d'Alene Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Idaho[1]. Ancestral homeland included northern Idaho and eastern Washington.

Tribal Headquarters

Coeur d'Alene Tribe
P. O. Box 408
Plummer, ID 83851
Phone: 1.208.686.1800
Fax: 1.208.686.1182
Website: www.cdatribe-nsn.gov

History

Brief Timeline

1842: Catholic mission established by Pierre Jean de Smet

1858: Chief Vincent attacked settlement; defeated by Col. George Wright at Four Lakes and Spokane Plains

1858: The tribes of Coeur d'Alene, Spokane, Palouse, and Yakima united to defeat U.S. forces near Rosalia, Washington

1859: an expedition under Col. George Wright overwhelmed the combined force of Yakima, Spokane, Coeur d'Alenes, Palouse and Nez Perce. The tribes surrendered and their horses were slaughtered.

1867: Part of the Tribe placed on the Coeur d'Alene Reservation in Idaho

1872: Part of the Tribe removed to Colville Reservation in Washington

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Reservations

This tribe is primarily associated with the Coeur d'Alene Reservation in Idaho.

Agency

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Colville Agency, 1865-1952 (location of original records: Seattle Post, 1885 Census M595 roll number: 43-45,49-56,30)

Records

Agency Records:

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence M234 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Number

FHL Film Number

Post-1885 Census M595 RG 75 Rolls 693

Roll Number

FHL Film Number
Coeur d'Alene Colville Agency, 1865-1952 Seattle - Rolls 43-454, 49-56,30 Films:574208-574215

Vital Records

  • Coeur d'Alene Agency

Births and deaths,from supplemental census rolls (M595)

Births and Deaths 1920-1938 FHL Film: 574215

Births and Deaths 1918-1935. FHL Film: 1030792 item 2

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online