Cold Overton, Leicestershire Genealogy
|Cold Overton, Leicestershire|
St John the Baptist Cold Overton, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Oakham|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1578|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
OVERTON, COLD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 7 miles (S. E. by S.) from Melton-Mowbray. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Cold Overton like this:
COLD-OVERTON, a parish in the district of Oakham and county of Leicester; at the boundary with Rutland, near the Syston and Peterborough railway, 3½ miles WNW of Oakham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cold Overton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|COLD OVERTON PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.