Cold Salperton, Gloucestershire Genealogy
Guide to Cold Salperton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cold Salperton, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Northleach|
|Parish registers: 1629|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
SALPERTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Northleach, hundred of Bradley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 5 miles (N. w. by N.) from Northleach. It is situated a little to the north of the road from Northleach to Cheltenham, and to the south of that from Stow-on-the-Wold to the same town. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288764.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.