Colfax County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Colfax County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Colfax County
Colfax County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Colfax County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 15, 1869
County Seat Schuyler
Courthouse
px
Address Colfax County Courthouse
411 E. 11th Street
Schuyler, NE 68661-1940
Phone: 402.352.8504


Colfax County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Colfax County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1869 1870 1869 1869

County Courthouse

County Judge has marriage records from 1869, probate records from 1886 and court records from 1885. Clerk District Court has divorce records from 1881. County Clerk has land records from 1860. [2]

History

Parent County

1869 Colfax County was created 15 February 1869 from Platte County. County seat: Schuyler [3]

Description

The county and the county seat are named after the former Vice President of the United States, Schuyler Colfax.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

  • Clarkson
  • Howells
  • Leigh
  • Richland
  • Rogers
  • Schuyler

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Clarkson, Nebraska:
Sousek Cemetery

Columbus Cemetery Supervisor
1060 12th Avenue, Columbus NE
402-562-4251
402-562-4251

Dodge, Nebraska:
Saint Patricks Cemetery
Tabor Cemetery

Howells, Nebraska:
Grove Hill Cemetery
S S Peter and Paul Cemetery
Saint Johns Cemetery
Danish Lutheran Cemetery

Schuyler, Nebraska:
Dry Creek Cemetery
Saint Johns Cemetery
Grandview Cemetery

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,424
1880 6,588 362.6%
1890 10,453 58.7%
1900 11,211 7.3%
1910 11,610 3.6%
1920 11,624 0.1%
1930 11,434 −1.6%
1940 10,627 −7.1%
1950 10,010 −5.8%
1960 9,595 −4.1%
1970 9,498 −1.0%
1980 9,890 4.1%
1990 9,139 −7.6%
2000 10,441 14.2%
2010 10,515 0.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Colfax County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Colfax County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Necolfax.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Colfax County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Colfax - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Clarkson Historical Society
    221 Pine St.
    Clarkson, NE 68629-4015
    Phone: 402-892-3854
    Email: Ijperin@megavision.com

Libraries

  • Schuyler Public Library
    1123 A Street
    Schuyler, NE 68661
    Phone: 402-352-2221
    Fax: 402-352-5377
    Email: claycenterlibrary@gmail.com
    Library Director: Cheryl Green
  • Clarkson Memorial Library
    316 Pine St
    Clarkson, NE 68629, USA
    Phone: 402-892-3235
  • Howells Public Library
    128 N 3rd St
    PO Box 337
    Howells, NE 68641-0337
    Phone: 402-986-1210
    Fax: 402-986-1210
    Email: howellspubliclibrary@yahoo.com
    Director: Victoria Vacha

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Colfax County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/colfax/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colfax County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colfax_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).