Colombia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Colombia)
Jump to: navigation, search

South America Gotoarrow.png Colombia

Colombia Wiki Topics
Flag of Colombia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Colombia Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Colombia ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Colombia is a country in South America bordered by Panama, Venezuela, Brazil, Ecuador, and Peru. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Colombia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Colombia research.

Colombia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Colombia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Colombia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Colombia.

350px-Departments of colombia svg.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Colombia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Departamentos:

*Catholic Church records are available at FamilySearch.org for the starred departamentos.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Colombia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colombia, accessed 3 May 2016.