Colorado River Indian Tribes, Arizona (Tribe)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Utah Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Indians of New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Indians of Utah Gotoarrow.png Colorado River Indian Tribes, Arizona (Tribe)

Guide to Colorado River Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Colorado River Indian Tribes

Tribal Headquarters

Colorado River Indian Tribes
26600 Mohave Road
Parker, AZ 85344
Phone: 928.669.1281
Fax: 928.669.1391

History

The Colorado River Indian Tribes include four distinct Tribes - the Mohave, Chemehuevi, Hopi and Navajo. There are currently about 3,500 active Tribal members.

See more particular information on

Brief Timeline

Reservations

These tribes are primarily associated with the Colorado River Indian Tribes, Arizona (Reservation)

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Websites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

  • Colorado River Indian Tribes. Constitution and Bylaws of the Colorado River Indian Tribes of the Colorado River Indian Reservation, Arizona and California. S.l: s.n.], 1975. WorldCat 22102899
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes. Constitution and by-Laws of the Colorado River Indian Tribes Of the Colorado River Reservation, Arizona and California. Including the Indian Reorganization Act Law and Order Code Land Code Tribal Ordinances Legal Forms and Secretarial Regulation Governing Settlement of the Southern Reserve. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. print. off.], 1974. WorldCat 9141537
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes. Manataba Messenger. Parker, Ariz: CRIT Communications & Graphic Dept., Colorado River Indian Tribes, 1980. WorldCat 8651043
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes. History of Planning Project to Secure Beneficial Ownership of the Colorado River Reservation by Congressional Action, 1958-1959. 1959. WorldCat 30785490
  • United States. Colorado River Indian Tribes. Parker, Ariz: Colorado River Agency, 1975. WorldCat 30406772
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes Newsletter. Parker, Ariz: Colorado River Indian Tribes, 1982. WorldCat 49855658
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes of the Colorado River Indian Reservation, Arizona and California. Colorado River Indian Reservation : a Guide Through the Past, an Introduction to the Present, and Our Plans for the Future! [Parker, Ariz.]: Colorado River Indian Tribes, 2000. WorldCat 64235237
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes of the Colorado River Indian Reservation, Arizona and California. Smoke Signals. Parker, Ariz: Colorado River Indian Tribes, 1956-1980, 1956. WorldCat 5459773
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes, and Ralph Whitney Johnson. Colorado River. Seattle, Wash: Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington School of Law], 1988. WorldCat 62676293
  • Dutton, Bertha P. The Ranchería Peoples. The Colorado River Indian Tribes. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1900. WorldCat 16054050

References