Columbia County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Columbia County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Columbia County

Guide to Columbia County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
ColyerColumbia76.jpg

{{{link}}}

Columbia County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Columbia County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 16, 1854
County Seat St. Helens
Courthouse
Or-columbia-ch.jpg
Address Columbia County Courthouse
244 Strand Street
St. Helens, OR 97051
Phone: 503.397.3796
Columbia County Website




County Information


Columbia County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1907 1854 1860 1850 1850

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1890,
divorce and court records from 1854 and probate records from 1880. [1]

Records Held at the Courthouse


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon , Columbia County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Columbia County, Oregon

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Quick Facts

Named for the Columbia River, which forms the northern and eastern boundaries.

Parent County

16 January 1854: from Washington County. [2]

Boundary Changes

  • No parts were taken to create any county.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Clatskanie | Columbia City | Prescott | Rainier | St. Helens | Scappoose | Vernonia

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Apiary | Goble | Mist | Pittsburg | Riverside | Warren

Neighboring Counties

Clatsop | Multnomah | Tillamook | Washington | Washington counties: Cowlitz | Clark | Wahkiakum

Resources

Cemeteries

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Columbia County, Oregon Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Columbia County:

  • Apiary Cemetery
  • Bayview Memorial Cemetery
  • Bethany Memorial Cemetery
  • Cedar Hill Cemetery (Bryant Cemetery)
  • Columbia Memorial Gardens
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Fishhawk Cemetery
  • Green Mountain Cemetery
  • Hudson Cemetery
  • Kinder Cemetery
  • Knights of Pythias Cemetery
  • Kobel Cemetery
  • Maplewood Cemetery
  • Mayger Cemetery
  • Mist Cemetery
  • Murray Hill Cemetery
  • Neer City Cemetery
  • North Cemetery of Clear Creek
  • Old Yankton Cemetery (Yankton Union Cemetery)
  • Saint Helens Pioneer Masonic Cemetery (German Hill Cemetery)
  • Saint Wenceslaus Catholic Church Cemetery
  • Shiloh Basin Cemetery (Jones Family Cemetery)
  • Stewart Creek Cemetery
  • Vernonia Memorial Cemetery
  • Vernonia Pioneer Cemetery
  • Welter Family Cemetery
  • Whittig Cemetery
  • Woodbine Cemetery
  • Yankton Hillcrest Cemetery

Links

Census

Territorial and State Census Records (Extant)

  • 1845 (as part of Tuality County, aka Twality or Twalitain)
  • 1849 (as part of Tuality County, aka Twality or Twalitain)
  • 1853 (as part of Washington County)
  • 1865

Federal Census Records (Extant)

  • 1850
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Wiki articles describing land records online are found at Oregon, Columbia County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps

Orcolumbia.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.


Historic Oregon Newspapers  as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.

Of particular interest to Columbia County researchers:

The Columbia Register (Houlton)
The Columbian (St. Helens)
The Oregon Mist (St. Helens)

Probate Records

Online Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Columbia Gorge Genealogy Society
722 Court Street
The Dalles 97058
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].